Our services

RiskWatcher COVID-19 – Alerts on April 16th, 2020


Risk&Co keeps you informed of the evolution of the world health situation and the spread of the COVID-19 pandemic. Find a short summary of the main health alerts compiled from our RiskWatcher platform.

For more information about our RiskWatcher platform click here.


1. AUSTRALIA: Canberra – 30-day extension of restrictive measures

Local authorities announced in the afternoon of April 16th, 2020, that movement restriction, already in effect throughout the country, will continue for at least another 30 days, in a bid to contain the spread of the COVID-19 outbreak.
In the State of Victoria, the state of emergency regime has been extended for at least four weeks until May 11th, 2020.

2. UNITED STATES: Chicago – United Airlines flights reduction

The United Airlines Group announced a 90% reduction in its flights for the months of May and June, due to the current pandemic.
A policy of short-term reduction in staff is also planned by the company.
To this date, 639,055 cases of coronavirus, including 30,925 associated fatalities, have been reported in the United States.

3. BURKINA FASO: Ouagadougou – Classes to resume on April 28th, 2020

The resumption of educational activities, initially scheduled for April 14th, 2020, has been postponed to April 28th, 2020, the Burkinabe government announced in a press release on April 14th, 2020.
As a reminder, classes have been suspended in Burkina Faso since March 16th, 2020 because of the expansion of the COVID-19 pandemic.

4. CHAD: N’djamena – Curfew extended for two weeks

The curfew regime, already enforced in the Chadian capital, N’djamena, and in some provinces of the country has been extended for another two weeks.
As a consequence, it was announced yesterday that the curfew regime is extended for fourteen days and remains in effect from 8 p.m. to 5 a.m. (local time), in the provinces of Logone Occidental, Logone Oriental, Mayo Kebbi Est and Mayo Kebbi, in the capital city and its surroundings.

5. EQUATORIAL GUINEA: Malabo -Extension of containment measures

Local authorities announced on April 14th, 2020, the extension of aready enforced containment measures until April 30th, 2020, in order to curb the spread of COVID-19 pandemic.
Movement from one district to another is prohibited during the quarantine period. Outings undertaken in case of urgent need or force majeure, for medical reasons, to go to the market or to the pharmacy and to work will be the only exceptions.

6. LIBYA: Tripoli – Curfew from April 17th, 2020

The Tripoli-based Government of National Accord (GNA), the internationally recognised governement of Libya, announced on April 15th, 2020, that a 24h curfew regime will be effective for 10 days from Friday, April 17th, 2020.
To date, Libya’s National Centre for Disease Control has reported 36 cases of COVID-19 throughout the country and only one associated fatalities.

7. LAOS: Vientiane – Extension of containment measures to May 3rd, 2020

Local authorities announced on April 16th, 2020, that the national containment regime, introduced on April 2nd, 2020, will remain in place until at least May 3rd, 2020.
Residents can only leave their homes for essential services, while all non-essential activities have been suspended.
As of today, 19 cases of COVID-19 have been recorded across the country.

8. COLOMBIA: Bogota – Release of 4,000 prisoners

The local authorities announced on Wednesday, April 15th, 2020, the temporary release of more than 4,000 prisoners, in order to reduce overcrowding and curb the spread of the COVID-19 pandemic in the penitentiary establishments .
This measure will apply to prisoners over 60 years of age, those who are sick or disabled, those who have served at least 40% of their sentence, breastfeeding mothers and those with children under the age of 3.

9. SUDAN: Khartoum – Suspension of prayers in mosques

On April 15th, 2020, the Sudanese authorities announced the suspension of prayers in all mosques in Khartoum for 3 weeks, so as to prevent the spread of the COVID-19 pandemic.
In addition, on April 13th, 2020, the Sudanese government decided to impose a complete curfew regime on Khartoum State from April 18th, 2020.
A partial curfew regime has already been in place since March 23rd, 2020.

10. SENEGAL: Dakar – Extension of borders closure

The Minister of Tourism and Air Transport, Alioune Sarr, announced on April 15th, 2020, the extension of the borders closure until May 31st, 2020.
All flights to and from Senegal are suspended until May 31st, 2020, as part of the fight against the spread of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Suscribe to our newsletter

Every first Wednesday of the month, receive Risk&Co’s main news.